Men’s diving earns NCAA berths at Zone Diving competition

Manesh Upadhyaya

Before spring break even began, Texas’ divers traveled to College Station for the NCAA Zone Diving competition, a three-day event where participants attempted to qualify for the NCAA championships, which will be held Thursday through Saturday in Columbus, Ohio.

Last season’s NCAA 1-meter diving champion Drew Livingston and junior Matt Cooper both earned NCAA berths. Their names were added to the Longhorns’ 19-man list of NCAA hopefuls, including Olympians Ricky Berens, David Walters and freshman sensation Austin Surhoff.

While the rest of the school was away, the team had been preparing for its biggest meet of the year.

Compared to other schools, Texas is sending the largest contingent of swimmers and divers to Columbus. Ohio State, California, Auburn and Arizona are each taking 18 competitors, respectively.