Swimming and diving head to NCAA Championship in Indianapolis

Brittany Lamas

The No. 9 Longhorns will take the pool for NCAA Championship competition Thursday in Indianapolis. Texas will be represented by 10 individual swimmers, two divers and five relay teams.

Texas has won seven national team championships and finished at No. 9 in 2012. Preliminary competition starts at 10 a.m. with finals
beginning at 6 p.m.

Senior swimmers Laura Sogar and Kelsey Amundsen along with senior diver Shelby Cullinan will be making their fourth, and final appearances at the national competition this year.  

Redshirt junior Maren Taylor is the other diver that will join Cullinan in Indiana this weekend. 

Juniors Sarah Denninghoff, Ellen Lob, Lily Moldenhauer and Samantha Tucker along with sophomores Gretchen Jaques, Kaitlin Pawlowicz, Skylar Smith, and Kelsey LaNeave will also represent Texas as individuals, each swimming three races.

Texas’ five relay teams are seeded in the top 12 or greater going into the meet. Senior Bethany Adams and junior Alex Hooper will serve as
relay alternates.