Winners of the 2013 Pulitzer Prize

The Daily Texan Staff

Editor’s Note: To accompany our Pulitzer Prize for Fiction package which ran on April 15, 2013, The Daily Texan has compiled a list of the Pulitzer Prizes awarded for the 2013 Pulitzer Prize. All winners can be found at

Public Service: Sun Sentinel, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Breaking News Reporting: Staff of The Denver Post

Investigative Reporting: David Barstow and Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab of The New York Times

Explanatory Reporting: Staff of The New York Times

Local Reporting: Brad Schrade, Jeremy Olson and Glenn Howatt of Star Tribune, Minneapolis

National Reporting: Lisa Song, Elizabeth McGowan and David Hasemyer of InsideClimate News, Brooklyn, NY

International Reporting: David Barboza of The New York Times

Feature Writing: John Branch of The New York Times

Commentary: Bret Stephens of The Wall Street Journal

Criticism: Philip Kennicott of The Washington Post

Editorial Writing: Tim Nickens and Daniel Ruth of Tampa Bay Times

Editorial Cartooning: Steve Sack of Star Tribune, Minneapolis

Breaking News Photography: Rodrigo Abd, Manu Brabo, Narciso Contreras, Khalil Hamra and Muhammed Muheisen of Associated Press

Feature Photography: Javier Manzano, free-lance photographer

Fiction:The Orphan Master’s Son” by Adam Johnson

Finalists:What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank” by Nathan Englander and “The Snow Child” by Eowyn Ivey

Drama: Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar

History: Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America’s Vietnam by Fredrik Logevall (Random House)

Biography: The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo by Tom Reiss (Crown)

Poetry: Stag’s Leap by Sharon Olds (Alfred A. Knopf)

Non-Fiction: Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys by Gilbert King (Harper)

Music: Partita for 8 Voices by Caroline Shaw (New Amsterdam Records)