Longhorns earn conference accolades


The Texas baseball team cleaned up the 2011 Big 12 baseball awards. Take at the Longhorns that picked up the individual honors.

Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Jungmann (12-0, .95 ERA, 109 SOs)

Freshman of the Year: Erich Weiss (.370 batting average, .509 on-base percentage)

Co-Coach of the Year*: Augie Garrido (19-8 league record)

 *Shared with Texas A&M’s skipper Rob Childress

All-Big 12 First Team:

Brandon Loy, SS
Erich Weiss, 3B
Taylor Jungmann, SP
Corey Knebel, RP

All-Big 12 Second Team:

Tant Shepherd, 1B

Honorable Mention:

Cole Green, SP
Paul Montalbano, OF

All-Freshman Team:

Jacob Felts, C
Mark Payton, OF
Erich Weiss, 3B
Corey Knebel, RP

For a full list of the 2011 All-Big 12 baseball awards, check out www.big12sports.com