Longhorns lead Big 12 Academic Team


The Big 12 announced its 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team on Wednesday, naming five Longhorns to the roster. 

Texas’ five selections led the conference, with seniors Prince Ibeh and Danny Newsome being named to the first team. Seniors Demarcus Holland and Connor Lammert as well as junior Isaiah Taylor were named to the second team. Holland, Lammert and Ibeh have now been named to the team for three consecutive years, while 2016 marked Taylor’s second career selection.

First team honors were awarded to those who held a GPA of 3.20 or higher, while the second team consisted of athletes with a GPA ranging from 3.00 to 3.19. 

In order to be eligible for the All-Academic team, players must maintain a 3.00 GPA for two straight semesters. Additionally, it is required of athletes to participate in 60 percent of a team’s games.

Since 2015, Texas has garnered 11 Academic All-Big 12 selections, the most of any program in the conference.