Big 12 Preseason football team released

Trey Scott

If the 2011 All-Big 12 Preseason team is any indication, the rest of the league has some catching up to do.
Oklahoma paced the conference with a total of nine selections, five more than any other school, and the Sooners’ own Travis Lewis was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year.

After a 5-7 season, Texas had just three players make the team, all on the defensive side of the ball — Keenan Robinson, Blake Gideon and Kheeston Randall. With the trio, the Longhorns are tied with Missouri for fourth-most preseason selections. Texas A&M and Oklahoma State each have four, with OSU’s Justin Blackmon the Offensive Player of the Year. Incoming Texas running back Malcolm Brown was chosen as the Newcomer of the Year.

Here’s the full list:

Offensive POY: Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State
Defensive POY: Travis Lewis, LB, Oklahoma
Newcomer of the Year: Malcolm Brown, RB, Texas


QB: Landry Jones, Oklahoma
RB: Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M
RB: Bryce Brown, Kansas State
RB: Roy Finch, Oklahoma
WR: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
WR: Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
TE: Michael Egnew, Missouri
OL: Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State
OL: Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State
C: Ben Habern, Oklahoma
OL: Lonnie Edwards, Texas Tech
OL: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M


DL: Brad Madison, Missouri
DL: Ronnell Lewis, Oklahoma
DL: Kheeston Randall, Texas
DL: Frank Alexander, Oklahoma
LB: Travis Lewis, Oklahoma
LB: Jake Knott, Iowa State
LB: Keenan Robinson, Texas
DB: Coryell Judie, Texas A&M
DB: Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State
DB: Blake Gideon, Texas
DB: Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma


PK: Grant Ressel, Missouri
P: Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
KR: Coryell Judie, Texas A&M
PR: Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma