Men’s, women’s swimming and diving claim eight total postseason awards

Mark Skol

Following impressive seasons from both the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams, both cleaned up at the Big 12 conference postseason awards Tuesday afternoon.

Texas brought home eight total awards — five for the men’s team and three for the women’s.  

The men’s conference coaches voted Texas sophomore swimmer Joseph Schooling as the Big 12 Men’s Swimmer of the Year, junior diver Mark Anderson as the Men’s Diver of the Year and freshman swimmer Townley Haas as the Men’s Newcomer of the Year. Head coach Eddie Reese was selected to his 14th Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year in the award’s 15-year history.

Schooling also won the CSCAA Division 1 Men’s Swimmer of the Year award as he set the NCAA, NCAA Championship, U.S. Open, Big 12, pool and school records while winning the 100-yard and 200-yard butterfly at the NCAA Championships in Atlanta. 

For women’s swimming, senior diver Meghan Houston was selected as the Women’s Diver of the Year and freshman swimmer Joanna Evans as the conference’s Women’s Newcomer of the Year.

Matt Scoggin was voted as both the Men’s and Women’s Diving Coach of the Year.