Texas swimming and diving secures Big 12 Championship victories

Crystian Scott-Ramirez , Sports Reporter

After a flawless showcase in the morning’s opening preliminary competition with a victory in all ten events, the Longhorn men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams both brought home the trophy Saturday night for Texas, notching the 26th consecutive title for the No. 1 men’s team and 10th straight for the No. 2 women’s team.

The Longhorns took control of the preliminary competition Saturday morning, and the evening was almost identical, as Texas managed to take victory in thirteen of the fourteen events.  The day was topped off by the men’s team breaking the program record in the 400-yard freestyle relay event.

The Big 12 Finals opened with the men’s platform diving. Junior Andrew Harness secured the first of many victories for the Longhorns as he scored 453.85 points in the 3-meter dive, nearly 80 points more than the second place competitor. 

Next up in the women’s 200-yard backstroke, sophomore Olivia Bray took the top spot with a time of 1:51.09, over six seconds faster than the rest of the competition.

In the men’s 200-yard backstroke event, sophomore Carson Foster and junior Peter Larson came in first and second place, respectively.  Foster posted a 1:39.42 with Larson just behind him at 1:41.64.

Junior Kelly Pash finished with 48.42 in the women’s 100-yard freestyle, as four other Longhorns trailed behind her, giving Texas a clean sweep of the top five.

The results of the men’s 100-yard freestyle reflected that of the women’s, as senior Daniel Krueger finished with a  41.49, trailed by three of his teammates. Krueger’s victory continues his undefeated streak for the event this season. Krueger was the 2020 Big 12 Swimmer of the Year, and was named 2021 Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for Men’s Swimming and Diving.

Freshman Erica Sullivan had to beat her own teammate in order to take the title in the women’s 1650-yard freestyle, finishing in 15:58.74 with senior Evie Pfeifer behind her at 16:00.28.

Sophomore David Johnston swept the competition in an unopposed victory in the men’s 1650-yard freestyle as he managed to complete the race in 14:45.84, around 15 seconds faster than anyone else.

Sophomore Anna Elendt picked up a win in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke at 2:03.92, improving on her program record.

With junior Casper Corbeau hitting a time of 1:51.81 in the men’s 200-yard breaststroke, the Horns kept the top three spots to themselves.