Texas primary results announce Greg Abbott, Beto O’Rourke as party nominees for Texas governor

Hannah Ortega, Senior News Reporter

Republican Greg Abbott and Democrat Beto O’Rourke won their party’s respective nomination for governor Tuesday night in the Texas primaries, while incumbent Republican Attorney General Ken Paxton will enter a runoff with George P. Bush for their party’s nomination to his current position.  

Abbott beat seven Republican challengers, including Rick Perry and Don Huffines, while O’Rourke won against four other Democratic candidates. Abbott won 66.4% of votes, with Allen West behind at 12.3% and Don Huffines at 12%, according to The Texas Tribune. O’Rourke won 91.3% of votes.

Abbott and O’Rourke will compete for the governorship in November. 

Ken Paxton will compete in a runoff election against George P. Bush for Republican attorney general — Paxton’s current office. Rochelle Garza won the Democratic nomination for the position.

Roger Williams won the Republican nomination for U.S. House Representative in District 25, which includes UT. There were no Democratic candidates. Robert Walsh won the Democratic nomination for Texas Senator in District 25 with no competitors, while Donna Campbell snagged the Republican nomination.

Chip Roy took the Republican nomination for U.S. House Representative for District 21, which includes the cities of New Braunfels, Fredericksburg and San Marcos, among others. Ricardo Villarreal and Claudia Zapata will enter a runoff for the Democratic nomination. Judith Zaffirini and Julie Dahlberg earned the Democratic and Republican nominations, respectively, for District 21’s State Senator. 

Republican Pete Sessions won his party’s nomination for U.S. Representative for District 17, while Mary Jo Woods had no competitors in her run for the Democratic nomination for the same position. For Texas Senate District 17, Joan Huffman won the Republican nomination uncontested. A Democratic nominee has yet to be announced, according to The Texas Tribune as of Tuesday. The competitors are Titus Benton and Miguel Gonzalez.

Greg Casar took the Democratic nomination for U.S. Representative in District 35, while Michael Rodriguez and Dan McQueen will participate in a runoff election for the Republican nomination. 

In District 10, which includes the cities of Katy and Cypress as well as northern parts of Austin, both Democrat Linda Nuno and Republican Michael McCaul faced no competitors in their nominations to the U.S. House. Beverly Powell won the Democratic nomination for Texas Senate District 10 uncontested, and Phil King won the Republican nomination.