Four under-$20 shows to see in Austin this weekend

Katie Walsh

Who: Tanlines

Where: Mohawk, 912 Red River St.

When: Thursday, 8 p.m.

Cost: $15

Electronic pop duo Tanlines is returning to the Lone Star State this weekend for a special, Texas-only tour to promote their sophomore album, Highlights, released in May 2015. Much like their 2012 release Mixed Emotions, which reached moderate success due to hit single “All of Me,” Highlights features a slew of ’80s-influenced pop songs exemplified in tracks such as “Slipping Away” and “Pieces.”

Who: Emily Wolfe

Where: Stubb’s Indoor,  801 Red River St.

When: Thursday, 8 p.m.

Cost: $10 advance GA, $12 at door

Austin-based rock singer Emily Wolfe plans to shoot a music video during her Stubb’s Indoor show with opener Zac Kellogg. After writing her debut record during her struggle with addiction and alcoholism, Wolfe wrote the entirety of her upcoming sophomore album while she was sober. Listeners can expect to hear several new, unreleased cuts from her upcoming album Thursday night including a new single, “Atta Blues,” to be released Jan. 15.

Who: Dan Dyer

Where: Lamberts, 401 W. 2nd St.

When: Friday, 9:30 p.m.

Cost: $8

With a trademark jazzy and soul-infused sound, Dan Dyer hails from the small Texas town of Tool. After moving around Texas as a kid and young adult, Dyer settled down on a plot of open land outside of Austin. Check out songs from his 2008 self-titled album such as his hit single “Love Chain” or sample his falsetto in “Anne-Marie.”


Who: Duncan Fellows

Where: Stubb’s Indoor,  801 Red River St.

When: Saturday, 10 p.m. (doors open at 9 p.m.)

Cost: $8 advance GA,  $10 at door

Following the release of their EP Marrow last year, five-piece indie rock group Duncan Fellows will play an indoor show at Stubb’s on Saturday night with opener Moxxy, a house music duo from Phoenix. Like their 2013 EP, Twelve Months Older, Marrow is a collection of five sweet, youthful songs that cover a range of emotions, from the upbeat single “Saints” to the somber and introspective track “Dark Eyes.”