Quick guide to Student Government election

Katie Balevic

Voting for Student Government elections will begin at 8 a.m. on Wednesday and close at 5 p.m. on Thursday. Students can use their EID and password to vote on the Campus-Wide Elections page of the Office of the Dean of Students website.

The ballot will be more crowded than usual with a total of eight executive alliances vying for the president and vice president positions. The campaigns are: Guneez Ibrahim and Hannah McMorris; Colton Becker and Mehraz Rahman; Aakash Saraiya and Daniel Noble Hernandez; Bryce Fuller and Vikram Sundaram; Austin Goss and Denny Lee; Aparna Chandarshekar and Shawn Killian; Joshua Richardson and Chison Liu; and Blake Dow and Walker Adams. Arvind Ashok and Max Lopez have dropped from the running.

Detailed profiles of the executive alliance candidates can be found on The Daily Texan website.

Candidates have been openly campaigning since filing closed on Feb. 13. There are over 50 campus positions available in Student Government, Graduate Student Assembly, Texas Student Media, University Unions and Events + Entertainment and University Co-op, according to the Office of the Dean of Students.

While filing ended Feb. 13, some positions were left without a candidate. The Election Supervisory Board, which oversees campus elections, granted a three-day extension for the following positions: at-large graduate, graduate, architecture, education, geosciences, law, nursing, pharmacy, public affairs and social work.

An in-depth look at the candidates and resolutions to be voted on can be found on The Daily Texan website.